Tech Archive‎ > ‎

Setup Page Level Permissions on Google Sites

posted Mar 28, 2019, 8:37 PM by Sanjeev Jain

Let's say you are the owner of a website with a Home page at the top and two pages -- called Private Page and Public Page -- underneath it. You want to share this site with your coworkers and allow them to edit both the Home and Public Page. However, your interns aren't allowed to see the financial data you keep on Private Page, and only accountants are allowed to edit that data. Everyone else can only view the Private Page.

To set this up:

  1. Click the More actions button  and select Sharing and Permissions.
  2. In the top right, click Enable page-level permissions.
  3. In the dialog box, click Turn on page-level permissions.
  4. Once you have page-level permissions on, you'll see the hierarchy of your site on the left side of the "Sharing and Permissions" page. At the top, click on the name of your site to set your site's permissions.
  5. In the dialog box that appears for your site, add everyone in your company and set their access level to Can edit.
  6. Find your Private page in your site's hierarchy and click on it.
  7. Next to "Use same permissions as the Site," click Change.
  8. In the dialog box that appears, under the "Use custom permissions" section, select Inheritance iconAdd new users to this page or No inheritance iconDo not add new users to this page.
  9. Click Save.
  10. While on your permissions page for your Private Page, delete your interns from your page.
  11. Finally, set everyone who isn't an accountant or an intern to Can view.

This will make your Private page editable by accountants, restricted for interns, and viewable by everyone else. In addition, everyone will be able to edit the rest of your site.

Page Level permissions


More detail on setting permissions for a specific page

In order for a person to be able to view or edit a specific page, you'll first need to add that person at the site level. You can then change which pages they can view or edit.

Once you've turned on page-level permissions and added people to your site, you can control people's permissions for each page:

  1. In your site hierarchy on the left side of the "Sharing and Permissions" page, click on the page that you want to set permissions for.
  2. By default, your page will be set to use the same permissions as your site. To have this page use different permissions, click Change next to "Use same permissions as the Site."
  3. Under "Use custom permissions," choose if you would like for this page to be visible to people you add to your site or if this page will only show to new people if you also specifically give them permission. You can always change how this page updates permissions later.
  4. Once you've made your selection, click Save.
  5. You'll now be able to set each person's access level for that page. Or, if you don't want a person to be able to see the page at all, you can click the Delete X icon icon on the right side of their name. This will also prevent them from seeing any pages below this page.
  6. Click Save changes to save your page-level permissions.

You can now see what permissions people have on this page in the box on the right side of the "Sharing and Permissions" page. You can also see the permissions for other pages by clicking on those pages in your site's hierarchy on the left side of the "Sharing and Permissions" page.

Comments